History In The Making As New Yaa-Naa Is Outdoored Today

The wait is over as Dagbon will breathe a sigh of relief with the outdooring of a new Yaa Naa after 17 years protracted chieftaincy dispute.

Abubakari Mahama II will be crowned as the new king of Dagbon today in a ceremony which will never be forgotten in the history of Dagbon.

Yaa Naa Abubakari Mahama was selected by Dagbon Kingmakers last Friday, January 18, 2019, in Yendi after the burial of both Yaa Naa Mahamadu Abdulai and Yaa Naa Yakubu Andani II.

This feat was achieved with the help of the Committee of Eminent Chiefs led by the Asantehene Otumfuo Osei Tutu II.

The Committee was set up by former President John Agyekum Kufuor in 2002 to find a lasting solution to the protracted Dagbon chieftaincy dispute.

Meanwhile, President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo on Thursday arrived in Tamale Thursday ahead of the coronation.


As part the coronation process, there would be a recital of the Holy Quran at the forecourt of the Gbewaa Palace in the morning before the event would be moved to the Jubilee Park at the Yendi SHS.

Until his selection, Yo-Naa Abukari Mahama, about 70, was the Paramount Chief of the Savelugu Traditional Area. He succeeds his nephew, the late Yaa Naa Yakubu Andani II who died in March 2002.


The event that would come off at the Jubilee Park at the Yendi Senior High School will be chaired by the President of the National House of Chiefs and the Agbogbomefia of the Asogli State in the Volta Region, Togbe Afede XIV.

 Also in attendance would be members of the Committee of Eminent Chiefs that crafted the roadmap to peace in Dagbon. Members of the committee, chaired by Asantehene Otumfuo Osei Tutu II, are the paramount chiefs of Mamprugu and Gonja Traditional Areas in the Northern Region, the Nayiri, Naa Bohagu Abdulai Mahama Sheriga, and the Yagbonwura, Tuntumba Boresa II respectively.

Other invited guests expected to grace the August occasion include representatives of various houses of chiefs, heads of institutions, chiefs and religious leaders, government functionaries, members of parliament and the general public.

Previous articleWe’ll continue with Free SHS policy — Mahama
Next articleNew evidence in case of Ghanaian accused of killing US lover


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.