Asawase remains as NDC clears four other constituencies for primaries

NDC held primaries in 157 constituencies across the country last weekend

The National Democratic Congress (NDC) will hold Parliamentary primaries for four other constituencies on Saturday, August 31, 2019.

The party held primaries in 157 constituencies across the country last weekend.

But primaries were postponed in five constituencies for various reasons.

In a statement, the Functional Executive Committee of the NDC has cleared the Assin Central Constituency, Mfantsiman Constituency, Fanteakwa North Constituency and the Elembelle Constituency to go ahead with their primaries.

This leaves the Asawase constituency where some NDC members have filed a petition to the National Executive Council of the party following their inability to file the nomination form of Masawudu Mubarick, the aspirant who is challenging the incumbent MP, Muntaka Mubarak.

The NDC has put in place a conflict resolution committee to resolve the impasse in the constituency.

Masawudu Mubarick has expressed concern that the posturing of some party executives indicates that they do not want him to contest, Muntaka Mubarak, who is the Minority Chief Whip in Parliament.

He found the regional office of the party under lock and key when he arrived at the premises on to file his nomination form back in July.

Mr. Masawudu’s nomination forms were said to have been rejected at the constituency and regional level because of pending disciplinary action against him.

Previous articleRawlings not influenced by government support for his charity works
Next articleNduom releases list of over 4200 companies, individuals and schools owing him GHc423million


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.