Akufo-Addo places temporary travel ban on Ministers, Deputy Ministers

President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, has placed a temporary ban on all Ministers of State and their deputies at least for the next one month except travels for motivated by serious medical emergencies sources close to the Presidency has confirmed to Asaase News.

This action by President Akufo-Addo, will be the second of its kind since he assumed office as President of the Republic in January 2017.

On the 21st of June 2018, the President, in a letter signed by his Chief of Staff, Madam Akosua Frema Osei Opare, directed that, all foreign travels by Ministers, Deputy Ministers, MMDCEs and Heads of Government Agencies be temporarily suspended with immediate effect”.

“Guidelines in respect of future foreign travels aimed at minimizing disruption to Government’s domestic work will be communicated to you shortly” the 2018 directive indicated.

It is not clear what is informing the latest decision of the President to ban all Ministers and their Deputies from traveling outside the Ghanaian jurisdiction.

However, in light of the fact that most of the President’s Ministers and Deputy Ministers are serving Members of Parliament and with the pendency of the appropriation of the 2022 budget statement and economic policy of government by Parliament, the directive of the President is perhaps to ensure that all members of the Majority caucus in Parliament are readily available to carry out domestic and parliamentary work.

Previous articleYour vision for Ghana, Africa earned you Forbes’ recognition — Ramaphosa eulogises Akufo-Addo
Next articleCommercial Transport Operators On An Indefinite Nationwide Strike.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.